The Curriculum

Teachers  units of work for their class based on assessment and prior knowledge. The objectives are taken directly from the National Curriculum for the year group, however, these are adapted to the emerging needs of the children through assessment for learning. We call these year group objectives ‘stages’ and these are shared with children through our writing and reading Learning Ladders (click here to view learning ladders). As you will notice, Stages 3 & 4, 5 & 6 are combined as they are under the National Curriculum. Individual lessons meet the needs of children through our ‘Metal’ system of differentiation.

English Curriculum

NC Year 1

Year 2

Year 3 and 4

Year 5 and 6









We begin teaching reading and writing through a programme of systematic, synthetic phonics using the Letters and Sounds scheme. We use assessment to adapt our teaching to match the emerging needs of early readers and writings.

Letters and sounds – DfE Information


Guided reading happens regularly in school in all year groups to enable them to develop their reading and comprehension skills. Children access banded books for home reading as well as progressive reading materials in school as a guided group.


Writing it taught following a learning journey which aims to creatively teach the skills needed by children to write purposefully. We use Talk for Writing to ensure children are exposed to and internalise new vocabulary and grammatical structures. We use the National Curriculum to teach progressive skills, spellings and grammatical content.